2010 Oscar Predictions

It’s that time of year again, where every film lover and many non film lovers start prognosticating about the Academy Awards. I’m still fuming over Ryan Gosling’s omission and even a bit perturbed at Christopher Nolan’s absence in favor of hack work by David O’Russell. But I digress. What follows are the predictions of who I think will win and who I think should win. Mostly, those are two very different opinions.

Best Picture:
Will Win: The King’s Speech
Should Win: The Social Network or True Grit

Best Director:
Will Win: David Fincher, The Social Network
Should Win: Joel and Ethan Coen, True Grit

Best Actor:
Will Win: Colin Firth, The KIng’s Speech
Should Win: Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network

Best Actress
Will Win: Natalie Portman, Black Swan
Should Win: Portman

Best Supporting Actor
Will Win: Christian Bale, The Fighter
Should Win: Geoffrey Rush, The King’s Speech or John Hawkes, Winter’s Bone

Supporting Actress
Will Win: Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit
Should Win: Steinfeld

Best Adapted Screenplay
Will Win: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network
Should Win: Sorkin

Best Original Screenplay
Will Win: Christopher Nolan, Inception
Should Win: Mike Leigh, Another Year

Best Cinematography
Will Win: Roger Deakins, True Grit
Should Win: Deakins

Now, just a list of who I think will win.

Best Art Direction: Alice in Wonderland,
Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3
Best Costume Design: The King’s Speech
Best Documentary: Exit Through the Gift Shop
Best Film Editing: The Social Network
Best Foreign Language Film: Incendies (Canada)
Best Makeup: The Wolfman
Best Music: The Social Network
Best Original Song: Toy Story 3
Best Sound Editing: Inception
Best Visual Effects: Inception

2 thoughts on “2010 Oscar Predictions

  1. I think Wasteland will win Best Doc, but I agree with you re Incendies (even though I have not yet seen it). Most of the other we disagree: particularly re Black Swan and The Fighter — I seem to feel diametrically opposed to you (for a change). I would call BS the hack work: sometimes fun but generally ridiculous.

  2. I still need to see WASTELAND, heard it’s great. Many people disagree with me in terms of the FIGHTER, but God, I hate that film. Every time I think of that terrible overacting and obvious themes I cringe.

Leave a Reply

